Noted.

How do I delete, archive or restore notes and notebooks?

Last updated

Short answer

Touch and hold a note, or swipe left on it, on iPhone and iPad (right-click on Mac) and choose Delete or Archive. Archived notes can be restored from the Archive; deleted notes and notebooks are gone for good.

Old notes you no longer use piling up? You can delete them in just a few easy steps – but bear in mind that deleted notes are not recoverable.


Delete a Note or Notebook

iOS

• In notes view, tap and hold on a note you want to delete, then tap Delete.
• In notes view, swipe left on a note you want to delete, then tap the 🗑 Trash button.

macOS

• Right-click a note or notebook you want to delete, then choose Delete.


Archive a Note or Notebook

Sometimes you just want to declutter and not delete, that’s why you need Noted’s Archive feature.

If Archive is turned on, your option to delete is automatically replaced with archive, instead of the 🗑 Trash icon, you will see the 🗃 Archive icon. That means you can simply follow the same steps to delete notes (see above) if you want to archive them.

All archived notes are moved to the Archive folder by default, which can be found below all your notebooks on iOS or above your notebooks on macOS.

In case you accidentally delete notes, they can be restored from the Archive folder. To disable this option and always delete permanently, go to Settings > General > toggle off ‘Archive deleted notes’. Alternatively, you can leave this toggled on and manually delete unwanted notes from the Archive.


Restore an Archived Note or Notebook

iOS

Go to the Archive folder, touch and hold the note you want to restore, tap Move, then select a folder to restore the note to.

macOS

Go to the Archive folder, right-click on the note you want to restore, tap Move, then select a folder to restore the note to.

Note: Archived notebooks will appear as individual notes in the Archive folder.